Island Adventure Series


The Island Adventure Series is parallel to the Talisman 1 Series and the Rescue Series. It offers a reality story (rather than fantasy)and covers the phoneme/grapheme correspondences as outlined below.

As always, this NEW series from Phonic Books UK, is very engaging with fabulous illustrations and tightly written cumulative text.  A matching workbook reinforces all knowledge taught and reinforces the interplay between reading and writing. As Dr. Louisa Moats says “Reading is like breathing in and writing is like breathing out.” When we target spelling, we assist reading development too – but not the reverse.

Ten books introduce alternative vowel spellings.

Book 1: ‘ae’: ay, ai, a, a-e, ea, ey
Book 2: ‘ee’: ee, ea, y, e, ie, e-e, ei
Book 3: ‘oe’: ow, oa, oe, o-e, o
Book 4: ‘er’: , er, ir, ur,or, ear
Book 5: ‘ow’  ‘oi’: ow, ou & oi, oy
Book 6: ‘oo’: oo, ue, u-e, ew, ou, u
Book 7:‘ie’:  igh, ie, i-e, i, y
Book 8: ‘or’:or, ore, a, aw, awe, au, ar, al, ough
Book 9: ‘air’: air, are, ear, ere, eir
Book 10: ‘ar’: ar, a, al, au, ear